Various Artists - Roots of Drone (Music CD)

Release Date: 16 April 2012
£9.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

RRP £0.00

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

Gathering together an incredible cross section of recordings both obscure and not, the Roots of Drone compilation aims to highlight the early history of experiments with repetition and single-note musicality that have gone on to influence generations of sound from techno to metal. The collection omits obvious examples of drone in the rock arena (Velvet Underground, Can, Spacemen 3, etc.) and leans more toward an extremely wide variety of sounds from raw blues primitivism to field recorded bagpipe soliloquies. Minimalist composers like John Cage show up, as does Miles Davis' Kind of Blue classic "So What," taking on a different view when couched in the context of drone fundamentalism. Apart from being an engaging and colorful playlist, Roots of Drone's strongest attribute is its curation and arrangement of these 37 tracks. Finding a commonality at all between the fiery gospel of Sam Cooke & the Soul Stirrers and Ravi Shankar's sun-drenched ragas is no small feat, but being able to coherently gather such eclectic recordings together under the shared umbrella of early drone prototypes really takes considered research and dedication. ~ Fred Thomas
Release Date: 16 April 2012

1. Sally Goodin - Robertson, Eck
2. Pibroch o' Donald Dubh - Macintosh, Pipe Major
3. Nijamarmamulan Raga Umabharanam - Dhanammal, Veena
4. Good Lord (Rum Old Jeremiah) - Washington, Joe
5. Raga Bhairava - Original Uday Shankar Company of Hindu Musicians
6. Hindoo Man - Formby, George
7. Skye Boat Song - Pipes and Drums of the 2nd Battalion Scots Guards
8. 4'33" - Cage, John
9. Wandering Blues - Hooker, John Lee
10. Mediana - Melis, Efisio
11. Shostakovich String Quartet #4 in D, Op 83-4 Allegretto - Borodin Quartet
12. The Coo-Coo Bird - Ashley, Clarence
13. On the Road Again - Jones, Floyd
14. Come and Go to That Land - Cooke, Sam & The Soul Stirrers
15. Mannish Boy - Waters, Muddy
16. Raga Simhendra Madhyamam - Shankar, Ravi
17. Live Beetle Jew's Harp - Wam Tribe New Guinea
18. I Need a Hundred Dollars - One String Sam
19. Third Movement - Webern's Five Pieces For Orchestra
20. For Brass - Young, LaMonte
21. Wagner-Rheingold Prelude - Knappertsbusch, Hans
22. The Eternal Voice - Monks of the Kume Tarsang Monastery of Lhasa,Tibet
23. Trio for Strings - Scelsi, Giacinto
24. Sleepwalk - Santo & Johnny
25. The Little Drummer Boy - Simeone, Harry Chorale
26. Untitled - Batuta, Rumania
27. She's Alright - Diddley, Bo
28. I Asked for Water (She Game Me Gasoline) - Howlin' Wolf
29. Jesus on the Main Line - James, Viola & Congregation
30. Lero, Baluchistan - Khuda Box Mandrani
31. Trouble in My Way - Swan Silvertones
32. Ben Hur/Arrius Party (Original Soundtrack) - Rozsa, Miklos
33. So What - Davis, Miles
34. Sun Arise - Harris, Rolf
35. Haydn Symphony No. 104 'London" (Spiritoso) - Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
36. Signifying Blues - Diddley, Bo
37. Monotone Symphony - Klein, Yves

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: CDCD5078