Vibrations (The) - Vibrating Vibrations, The (The Okeh & Epic Singles 1963-1968) (Music CD)

Release Date: 06 October 2008
£11.49 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.49
Andorra, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £1.69
Bulgaria, Cyprus, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vatican City
North America - £1.69
Canada, USA
Australia and Far East Asia - £1.69
Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Taiwan
Japan - £1.69
Others - £1.79
Falkland Islands

Available 2-3 extra days

For a group that only had mild success on the charts, the Vibrations had a pretty long career, putting out numerous records throughout the 1960s and lasting until the mid-'70s. While they didn't stay at the Columbia-distributed OKeh and Epic labels for all that long, it was about as long a stint as they managed with any label. The Vibrating Vibrations collects 26 tracks recorded for the imprints between 1964 and 1968, a few of them previously unreleased. (Despite what the subtitle says, these were recorded from 1964-1968 and not 1963-1968, an unusual slip on the usually scrupulous Kent/Ace label's part, as the liner notes clearly state the group didn't sign to either of these labels until July 1964.) And despite the length of the CD, it's not really a best-of either of the Vibrations' entire career or of their stay at OKeh and Epic in particular. It's not only missing their earlier, more rock & roll-oriented hits "Peanut Butter," "The Watusi," and "My Girl Sloopy"; it doesn't even have all the chart singles they landed on OKeh and Epic, the collection being assembled to avoid their covers of pop standards and emphasize their most soulful sides of the era. But despite the involvement of some very big names (Curtis Mayfield, Carl Davis, Eugene Record, Kenneth Gamble, and Leon Huff) of Chicago and Philadelphia soul as producers and/or writers of much of the material, it's thoroughly average mid- to late-'60s soul that lacks either standout songs or a particularly strong group identity. There are quite a few stylistic nods to major Motown and Chicago soul acts, such as the Four Tops and the Impressions (whose Curtis Mayfield wrote "Don't Let It Hide"). But to be cold, it's just alright, nothing special. Peak cuts include "Love in Them There Hills," a 1968 Gamble & Huff production with an uncharacteristically tough and serious sound that edged into the bottom of the charts, and "Canadian Sunset," which has more close-harmony pop in the mix than they usually employed. But "If You Only Knew," which is annoyingly derivative of Little Anthony & the Imperials' "Goin' Out of My Head," is a low point; "Watusi Time" and "Sloop Dance" are shameless retreads of raucous pre-OKeh Vibrations records, and one guesses the previously unissued "I Peeped Your Hole Card" might have been vetoed for release on the grounds of the disagreeable title alone. It really might not have been a bad idea to include the group's low-charting pop covers (one of the Beatles' "And I Love Her") after all, if only to ensure a little more variety. ~ Richie Unterberger
Release Date: 06 October 2008

1. Cause You're Mine
2. I Took An Overdose
3. Remember The Rain
4. Love In Them There Hills
5. Together
6. Come To Yourself
7. You Better Beware
8. Always Had Your Way
9. Soul A Go Go
10. Pick Me
11. Searching Is Over
12. Gonna Get Along Without You Now
13. Don't Let It Hide
14. Canadian Sunset
15. Follow Your Heart
16. If You Only Knew
17. Keep On Keeping On
18. Finding Out The Hard Way
19. Talkin' About Love
20. Hello Happiness
21. End Up Crying
22. Watusi Time
23. Ain't Love That Way
24. Sloop Dance
25. I Peeped Your Hole Card
26. Forgive And Forget

For more information and our Delivery Policy see here.

For more information and our Returns Policy see here.

Catalogue No: CDKEND304