Wendy & Lisa - Wendy & Lisa (Music CD)

Release Date: 25 March 2013
Artist: Wendy & Lisa
£9.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

Released in late 1987, Wendy and Lisa was the debut by Wendy Melvoin and Lisa Coleman after they left Prince's much loved band, the Revolution. Although Sign o' the Times was justifiably heralded as a masterpiece, Melvoin and Coleman both possessed an energy and prowess that some felt was missing from that effort and those that followed. Luckily, a good part of those charms show up on this album. The deceptively simple "Honeymoon Express" has a propulsive energy mixed with effortless and recondite vocals, especially on the chorus. Given the pair's work with Prince, it's no surprise that the best songs here are conflicted and thought-provoking. Melvoin's off-centered and oddly sensual vocals never fail to impress, as does Coleman's keyboard shading and composing. The insinuating "Everything but You" is one of the more true-to-life and honest love songs you're likely to hear. The best track, "Stay," is suitably dark and oddly reassuring, and made this an instant classic. Everything's not great here. "Chance to Grow" and the instrumental "White" both meander. Produced by Coleman, Melvoin, and Revolution drummer Bobby Z, Wendy and Lisa lasted well beyond its release date and is one fulfilling effort. ~ Jason Elias

More Detail

  • 1. Honeymoon Express
  • 2. Sideshow
  • 3. Waterfall
  • 4. Stay
  • 5. White
  • 6. Blues Away
  • 7. Song About
  • 8. Chance To Grow
  • 9. The Life
  • 10. Everything But You
  • 11. Light
  • 12. Honeymoon Express (12" Version)
  • 13. Sideshow (Extended Version)
  • 14. Waterfall '89 (Alice & Sundial Seven/Version)
  • 15. Waterfall (Psychedelic Teepee Twelve/Version)
Release Date: 25 March 2013
Artist: Wendy & Lisa