Whispers (The) - Love Is Where You Find It/Love for Love (Music CD)

Release Date: 17 June 2013
£9.79 includes FREE UK Postage (other delivery options available)

Shipping Destinations for this item

UK - Shipping Included
United Kingdom
Europe Zone 1 - £1.29
France, Germany, Switzerland
Europe Zone 2 - £1.99
Austria, Belgium, Finland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden
Europe Zone 3 - £2.69
Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vatican City

Stock available, usually dispatched in 2-5 working days.

This release from the Castle imprint compiles two classic Whispers albums in remastered format -- 1981's Love Is Where You Find It and Love for Love from 1983. And while some balladic ballast does weigh it down, your CD player's track skip button has the ability to make this set shine. The first album is the stronger of the two. Led by the funky dance hit "Turn Me Out," Love Is Where You Find It also features the strutting "In the Raw" and "Emergency." Of its slower material, "Love Is Where You Find It" is best, but it's really no match for the effortlessly cool dance hits, which all feature synth-heavy instrumentation that, though antiquated, stamps these jams with a fabulous, moment-in-time quality that's as fun as trying on your father's old leisure suit. While Love for Love ultimately succumbs to the dead weight of tepid ballads like "Keep Your Love Around" and "Lay It on Me," it starts strong with the glittering hit single "Tonight," and keeps the dancefloor jumping with "Keep on Lovin' Me." The title track shows off the Whispers' trademark harmonies over a breezy, soft-focus melody, but of the album's remaining tracks, only the doo wop-flavored "Do They Turn You On" has any real staying power. Still, this hit-filled collection is worth purchasing just for its classic dance grooves. ~ Johnny Loftus

More Detail

  • 1. In the Raw
  • 2. Turn Me Out
  • 3. Crusin In
  • 4. Emergency
  • 5. Say Yes
  • 6. Love is Where You Find It
  • 7. Only You
  • 8. Small Talkin'
  • 9. Tonight
  • 10. Keep On Lovin' Me
  • 11. Love For Love
  • 12. This Time
  • 13. Had It Not Been For You
  • 14. Try It Again
  • 15. Do They Turn You On
  • 16. Keep Your Love Around
  • 17. Lay It On Me
Release Date: 17 June 2013